Hitler’s Suicide

Posted: August 23, 2010 in World War 2

I hold you responsible for cremating the bodies…”

In the morning of April 30th, 1945, Hitler summoned Baur, his first pilot, & said, “Baur, I would like to take my leave of you.”

With great agitation, the pilot objected, “Surely, you don’t intend to end it all?” Hitler replied, “I’m afraid it’s come to that. My generals have sold me down the river, my soldiers don’t want to go on, & I myself can’t carry on like that.”

Baur tried to dissuade him, & proposed to fly him to the Argentine, to Japan or to an Arab Sheikh. But Hitler waved him aside: “I have only two alternatives left. I could go into the mountains or join Doenitz in Flensburg. But in a fortnight I would be just where I am now, & I’d have to make the same choice. The war is over now that Berlin is finished, & I stand or fall by the capital. One must have the courage to face things – I am putting an end to it. I know, tomorrow, millions of people will curse me – that’s fate for you.”

Hitler then presented Baur with Lenbach’s portrait of Frederick the Great, a portrait in whose magical powers the Führer had trusted throughout these years. Hitler continued:

“I have two further orders for you. I hold you responsible for cremating my body & that of my wife. Moreover, I have appointed Doenitz my successor. Bormann has been given several orders, which he must take to Doenitz in person. Make sure you get out of here. It is most important that Bormann gets to Doenitz.”

From Doenitz: Hitler – Reden und Proklamationen (Hitler’s speeches & proclamations). Vol. II

Discuss Your Thoughts

